MRM Dutch Chocolate Whey Protein Review

Over the years, I’ve tried various protein powders and have not been happy with any. The only one that I have made repeat purchases of, Nutiva Hemp Protein, is good in certain smoothies where added texture is desired but is not palatable on its own (in my opinion).

I took a gamble and ordered yet another protein powder, this time by a company called Metabolic Response Modifiers (MRM) in California. The one I purchased was MRM 100% All Natural Dutch Chocolate Whey Protein Powder. I haven’t seen this in stores (although I have seen their egg white protein variety). Many websites carry this, but Bodybuilding.com has a very competitive price.

MRM Whey Protein

After taking this supplement for almost 2 months now, I feel that I have had it enough to give an honest opinion.

Pros

  • Tastes Good (Dutch Chocolate Flavor)
  • Dissolves/Blends Easily
  • No Artificial Sweeteners or Artificial Flavors
  • Hormone Free and BSE Free
  • No Aspartame or Acesulfame K
  • No MSG
  • Gluten-Free
  • Added L-Glutamine
  • Not Overly Sweet

Cons

  • None!

For me there are no cons. Since this is whey protein powder, it of course contains dairy so it wouldn’t be good for those with a lactose intolerance. This product also contains soy.

Here is what MRM says about the product:

“All Natural Whey™ is an all natural source of protein that was designed to meet the protein needs of all age groups and is number one in digestion, absorption, utilization and retention. This is achieved by using a highly specialized cross-flow filtration and ion exchange process. All Natural Whey™ is also highly concentrated in essential amino acids (about 50%), half of which are “branched chain” (muscle preserving) amino acids (BCAAs). In fact, it is the richest natural source of BCAAs.

All Natural Whey™ can benefit those with a wide variety of health concerns ranging from the exceptionally healthy athlete to those trying to support lean muscle mass (e.g. children, teenagers, less active individuals as well as elderly). All Natural Whey™ is also fortified with L-Glutamine, which has been shown clinically to naturally stimulate the release of growth hormones and act as a building block for one of the body’s most important water-soluble antioxidants, glutathione. Whey protein is nutritionally perfect, meaning it contains all of the essential and non-essential amino acids required by the human body.

The addition of NitroZyme™ helps break down long and short chain peptides into smaller, more readily absorbable amino acids for maximum digestion and absorption without the worry of wasting ingested protein. NitroZyme™ helps the body release more amino acids from ingested protein than the action of digestive enzymes alone. When an athlete takes All Natural Whey™ (enhanced with NitroZyme™), the body can absorb more free amino acids directly into the muscle tissue, which helps to increase muscle size, strength and lean body mass.”

I feel that this protein powder has aided in my recovery (especially on heavy days like legs), cutting down on my DOMS and recovery time. I like that it has L-glutamine, as your body can lose up to 50% of glutamine levels during training, so this helps your body recover faster. It also keeps me feeling full until my next meal, which is great when I get out of the gym and am ravenous. Some days I am so hungry after my workout (usually after a heavy lifting day) but there might not be anything in the house to eat, and I sure don’t want to screw up my workout by going through the drivethru so this has been a lifesaver. I can mix it together within 5 minutes (time is crucial if you want to refuel in the 30 minute window!) and it tastes good, like a chocolate milkshake so I feel like I’m having a treat.

What amazes me about this protein powder is that it tastes decent when mixed with JUST water in my blender bottle! I have yet to find a powder that I can take with water alone.

While mixing it with water is sufficient, my favorite way to drink it is in a basic protein smoothie blended in the Vitamix. It feels more substantial when mixed into a smoothie, which is important for when I’m hungry and my next meal may be few hours away.

MRM Chocolate Protein Shake

RECIPE

*****************************************************************************************************************************************

Basic Chocolate Protein Shake

A super basic protein shake combination, perfect for post-workout recovery or a quick breakfast on-the-go.

Ingredients

  • 1 scoop MRM Dutch Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 ice cubes

Directions

  1. Add ingredients to Vitamix in order listed. Select variable speed #1, turn on, quickly increase to #10 and then switch to high. Blend until smooth.

Serves 1.

Tip: Make sure to add protein powder first, or else it will “fly up” inside the Vitamix and it won’t all get incorporated into your smoothie. If you do not have a Vitamix, you can use a high-power blender, but make sure that your frozen banana chunks are small or else it may not be able to process it as well.

*****************************************************************************************************************************************

I did not come up with this “recipe”, I am pretty sure it is the combination that everyone uses for their protein shakes, but I thought I’d post it here anyway in case someone is new to using protein powders and needs a basic idea to get started. After making it once, you can decide if you want to use only half a banana, substitute other milks (cow, soy, coconut, rice, hemp) or add other ingredients. For me, the above combo is just about perfect for a basic chocolate shake flavor.
The MRM protein powder contains 85 calories per scoop, the unsweetened vanilla almond milk has 40 per cup, and a medium size banana will run you about 105 calories. Total: 230 calories, 20g protein, 5g fat, og sat fat, 30g carbs
What is your favorite protein powder brand? What is your go-to protein shake combination?
Categories: Nutrition | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “MRM Dutch Chocolate Whey Protein Review

  1. I’ve been looking for a really good protein powder. I bought one that is hemp but it’s so gritty that it’s hard to drink. I’d like to see if I can find this one. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Gluten Free Bars, Shrooms and The Walk to Run Kickoff « Running on Cloud Nine

  3. Pingback: Starting LiveFit Phase 3 « Running on Cloud Nine

  4. This is a fantastic prodcut! Tastes great, organic my only problem is the quantity in the bottle is only 10 servings and it’s a little pricey. I’m sure high quality stuff is expensive anyway, but I would pay more for a larger bottle size. However, the vanilla is delicious! Great prodcut!!

  5. Hi,
    Have you tried the Bio-trust low carb protein powder? I just ordered some online, but then came across this (as this is what my mother-in-law uses) and am wondering how the 2 compare. I dont understand the jargon or know what all the ingredients mean that they put in them, but I like that this product doesnt have artificial sweeteners, which is the main reason I bought the Bio-trust one. Have you tried bio-trust or able to have a look and decipher for me which is the best based on ingredients? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

