ATK Easy Skillet Pasta Supper

It’s been a busy Saturday. The morning started with an awesome Mediterranean Egg White on Ciabatta Sandwich from Panera. I think this is the best breakfast sandwich I’ve had from a fast-food chain restaurant. It has fresh spinach & flavorful roasted tomatoes.  This sandwich has decent nutrition stats, too – 410 calories, 15 g fat, 25mg cholesterol (entirely from the slice of cheese), 3 g fiber & 21 g protein. If you ask to leave the cheese off, you could save all of the cholesterol and a hunk of the calories and fat. This sure is a lot healthier than the greasy bacon, egg & hashbrown skillets they serve at the breakfast house next door! Mr. Nine & I both agreed the only fault we found was that we wished there were just a few more pieces of the tomatoes. My sandwich only had 2 small tomato pieces and that is where all the flavor is! I would rather that they chop the tomatoes smaller so that there is more in each bite, or increase the quantity on that ingredient. Otherwise it is definitely 5 stars! I was so excited to dive in and eat that I forgot to take a picture. 🙂

Yesterday I saw that my tire was extremely low, the sidewall was touching the pavement so I filled it with air. I have an older car so it doesn’t have a fancy on-board tire sensor, it relies on old fashioned visual inspection or the use of an air gauge. Today on the way back from the market, I noticed a huge bulge on my tire! I have no idea how long my tire was low for (maybe a few days?) but driving on it that way caused severe damage so I had to go and get a new one today. $135 and a few hours later I have a brand new front tire. Just a reminder to check your tires often!

Since today was busy, I wanted an easy & quick dinner to throw together. I had a lot of baby spinach and decided to try this America’s Test Kitchen / Cook’s Illustrated recipe for Skillet Penne and Sausage Supper.

Skillet Pasta

In the skillet!

Skillet Pasta 2

Wow, this was really good! I appreciate that it is a one pot skillet meal as that means less dishes to clean! The idea is simple: Brown sausage & onion in a little olive oil. Stir in garlic & diced sun-dried tomatoes. Add uncooked penne pasta. Pour chicken broth & milk over, place a lid on the skillet and cook until the pasta is al dente. Stir in spinach until wilted, and add in some grated parm. Dinner was done in a half hour.

This was flavorful and creamy, yet did not require heavy whipping cream or too much cheese. The whole dish (which makes 4 large servings) has only 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. Overall it did have too much meat for my taste, but I don’t care for a lot of meat in general.

I have to admit that I was skeptical because of the sun-dried tomatoes. I don’t generally like them, and feel that they are a food fad that burnt out in the 1990’s. Sometimes they still show up on pizzas or in sandwiches and I always feel they are chewy and pointless. That being said, I thought the sun-dried tomatoes were right at home in this dish, not chewy and the flavor was fine.

We used Dreamfields Penne which boasts a lower glycemic index than regular pasta. Mr. Nine’s Mom bought us this pasta, and it was my first time trying it and I have to say that I did not notice a difference in taste compared to regular pasta.

I’d recommend going with the spicy version of sausage because that added a lot of great flavor – we didn’t have to season with any additional spices (not even s&p!). I did buy the spicy italian pork sausage (instead of the turkey) and just drained the fat off before adding the sauce ingredients.

I like the concept of cooking the pasta right in the sauce instead of wasting water to boil it in a separate pot. I am inspired by this recipe and would like to create some variations on it.

What is your favorite one-dish meal? Have you ever tried the low-carb pasta options, or do you stick with whole wheat? What do you think about sun-dried tomatoes? And finally, what is your favorite quick breakfast (sandwich or otherwise) from a restaurant?

Categories: Food | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “ATK Easy Skillet Pasta Supper

  1. Pingback: A Weekend Away « Running on Cloud Nine

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

