Color on a Gray Day

My Saturday lunch plans with Mom were canceled, and although I was hoping of going out for lunch, I was equally excited about staying in because I had all the makings for this lovely creation:

Orange, Avocado & Pomegranate Salad

Orange, Avocado & Pomegranate Salad

It is inspired by Iowa Girl Eat’s Triple Orange & Avocado Salad! I used Cara Cara & Blood Oranges, so it is a DOUBLE Orange salad for me. I left the membranes on the oranges, although it would have photographed nicer without, it was much easier to peel & separate segments by hand than to section it with a knife. If you are curious how to section an orange to photo-perfection, there is a tutorial at VeganYumYum. I also left out the shrimp and used bottled poppyseed dressing because that is what I had. I tossed the spinach by itself with a light layer of the dressing, then topped it with the two oranges, avocado & pomegranate.

Served with a side of Gardein Seven Grain Crispy Tenders and a slice of multi-seed bread, it was the perfect lunch.

I was a little disappointed in the quality of my pomegranate. The first store I went to did not have them, the second store had some pretty beat-up & old looking ones. Inside the pomegranate, a lot of the arils were past their prime, but I was able to get a good handful of firm, plump, juicy ones.

The combo of this salad is stunning visually, but tastes even better. I highly recommend this one!

No word from the doctor about the x-ray. Trying to be patient.

Categories: Food | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Color on a Gray Day

  1. What a beautiful, colorful plate! I was drawn to that recipe when I saw it on Iowa Girl Eats, as well. I hope your X-ray results don’t reveal anything too serious and that you can get back to running soon!

  2. Thanks, Jules!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

